top of page

Family Bonding

Buna (coffee) before bed = bad idea. Yes, yes I'm sure you're reading and are like DUH! BUT, here it is common to make buna late in the evening. So, my thinking- if they can drink it before bed why can't I? (Also, I was told that because the coffee is brewed in a certain way, that it doesn't have as much caffeine in it) I went into the family room last night and they offered, as they always do. So I said ihbakeh, ant buna afagalow (please, I want one cup). Needless to say I was up until almost 2am. Morning came too soon. I woke up, but wanted to sleep more and ended up sleeping in until almost noon!

Had an easy day. Eyasu's other sister came to visit with her two kids, Rahdet and Bimnet. Rahdwa is 10 years old and apparently has some sort of disability. I didn't even notice. When she was younger I guess she use to shake a lot and had medication for it. She's stopped taking it and it doesn't happen anymore. I don't think they know what it is, but she doesn't go to school. There's one school here for kids with autism. She went there for a little bit, but she only ended up copying the other kids bad habits and so they took her out. There aren't special needs classrooms here. Eyasu was so surprised to hear that we have special needs classrooms in regular public schools and that we try to integrate the students as much as possible. I am going to look into it more, maybe there's a way we can help. Any ideas, please let me know!

Rahwa's younger brother is only 2 years old and is super cute! I found out that tickling isn't a thing here. It's actually a joke that if someone is ticklish it means you don't know your father. But, throwing kids up in the area is acceptable and oh, did I get squeals of laughter! We played ball and I showed them how to play frisbee! My youngest brother, Solomon, was really good and had a big smile on his face. I think I made a breakthrough as he seemed hesitant around me when we first met!

Today for lunch… more injera! This time the visiting sister brought food and it was delicious. I can only describe it as a thick lentil soup, a different looking black lentil mixture, and onions that I think they sautee. With Alyssa's advice, I ate just the right amount without leaving a lot leftover! Since you know they're going to offer you more, she suggested to say that you're hungry way before you are and to take less. So, today I only took one injera, it's normal that you take two and when offered more, I only took a half. Afterwards, I had… in the daytime… some yummy coffee and was on my way!

We (Eyasu and I) went into town for a little bit to buy a phone and a modem so that I can connect to the internet. Thankfully, we took a mini-van (taxi) back home instead of walking back, as we had been the past two days. We do A LOT of walking! I hadn't minded because it so nice out. The weather is always perfect. But, today I could feel it in my calves.

When it gets dark out, which is around 7 or 8pm, everyone normally goes home. So, we've been back at the house pretty early. Eyasu's mother doesn't come from work until late, 8 or 830pm. She always (by always, I mean the past 3 days) comes to find me and gives me a hug and kiss and asks me how my day was. Answering the normal response of dana, fine, doesn't give much description, but is all I know how to say for now. One day, I will have a real conversation with her. I am excited for that day to come.

Each night, I've gone into the family room at some point, where everyone is eating dinner, drinking coffee or warm milk, and/or watching tv to say hello. I tell Marta about my day and ask about hers. I bought a kilo of avocados earlier, 4 huge avocados for 18 birr (~$1). I brought two with me and using the phrase Eyasu taught me, asked for a knife in Amharic. I cut each avocado in fourths, enough for everyone there, and passed out the pieces. They were so grateful. It's amazing how touched I felt just from sharing an avocado. Teresa said thank you and it's good, in English. That's when it dawned on me that her and Sawhi, in 7th grade, should know English, because it's what their classes are taught in! (After 4th grade, classes are taught in English and the standardized tests in 8th, 10th, and 12th grade are all in English). They giggled and got shy when I inquired. Eyasu had told me earlier that many people don't actually know English and the ones who do know some are too embarrassed to ever practice to get better. It's common for people to laugh if you mess up speaking English (though I've been laughed at multiple times for my broken Amharic).

With the help of Marta translating, I realized that although classes are suppose to be taught in English, many teachers switch to Amharic when the students don't understand. Most students get by simply from memorizing. I asked to be sure, that her upcoming end-of-the year 8th grade test was in English. She said yes, so I said that she needed to practice and that I'd help her! Marta told me that she really likes to do hair (I saw her braid Sawhi's hair the previous day for an hour). I asked if she likes to do nails too. When she said yes, I immediately went and got my nail polish. I almost didn't bring it, because I didn't know if it was culturally accepted to have painted nails. I am so glad I did, because they lite up once I showed them. I even brought two that have skinny brushes to make designs. We are having a nail polish painting party tomorrow night!

I also found out that Sawhi, isn't in regular school. She works all day to send money back home to her family in the countryside and takes night classes, which I think are only 2 hours long. I asked if she wanted to learn and she very admittedly said yes. I said if she wants I would be more than happy to teach/help her if she wants at night. She lite up, grinning, and said yes. I've never been more excited!

The rest of the evening, every time I learned a new word in Amharic, I'd make the girls say it in English. Word of the day, Amharic is actually Amharingya in Amharic! We even translated into Boose's language so that she could learn (Boose doesn't yet speak Amharic, but a different language from the village she comes from)! I said that we are going to learn all three languages and that we will be very smart! They will be the next president, prime minister, and ambassadors! They laughed, not in a dismissive, 'that's impossible' way, but in an amused, full of wonder kind of way. Mom smiled and nodded, approving of the idea. I asked Marta if a woman could be president. It's the same as the U.S., possible, just hasn't happened yet.

I left and went back to my room, full of excitement. I came bouncing in with such joy, that Eyasu looked at me asking what had happened. I cannot wait to begin. The thought of me tutoring them in Amharic and them feeling confident enough to speak English in class and passing their tests is invigorating. Going to see Koshe, the trash dumping site, which I didn't realize is walking distance away, and the school tomorrow to meet with the director. With so much excitement I'm not sure how I'm ever going to fall asleep! So much for giving up my evening cup of delicious buna!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page