top of page

Gambian Windstorm

I went to the market this afternoon with a friend to get an estimate of how much all my house repairs and needed items would cost. All day the sky had been cloudy and I'd wondered when and if it was going to rain.

We came out of the market which consists of small wooden stalls built like a maze that you have to wind and weave through and were looking at shops on the main road. We noticed the sky was getting pretty dark, ok actually really dark; it was an odd brown color. Decided it was best if we head back to the office. Stopped to buy some bananas from a lady selling them roadside and noticed that EVERYONE was starting to pack up. People were bringing things from outside into their shops inside. Tarps were thrown over small stands.

We looked back again... it had maybe been 3 minutes and yet the dark sky was closing in on us! Suddenly the wind picked up as did our pace. It was so strong that it picked up sand or the wind was carrying the sand, either way next thing I know we're running... thankfully we were only a little distance away of the office... through sand. It was like we were in the middle of the Sahara Desert! Could barely see more than 5-8 feet in front of me. I wanted to get out my camera to film then, but didn't have time plus the sand would've destroyed my lens.

Made it back to the door of the office compound just as it was starting to rain. Everyone was running around, rushing to put chairs and other items inside. I was yelled at, by I don't know who, to come in the back room where everyone was gathered (where I filmed the above video).

It was windy more than anything. I experienced my first rainstorm a few days prior and that was crazy in a totally diffferent way! It literally poured rain, heavy rain, for almost 40 minutes straight. I thought I was in the middle of a hurricane.

This felt like I was in the middle of a tornado. I asked them and they said no, no tornados here. But, if I was back home in Ohio and the sky was dark brown like that with the amount of wind and the temperature as hot as it was... I would've thought that I'd just entered the movie twister.

In the end, it only lasted 20 minutes or so. It was windy enough that it shattered the glass on part of the door to the upstairs office. We heard other things breaking and falling as well.

On the bright side: The weather is... not nice and cool... but cooler and cooler I will take anyday when the average is 100°F.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page