top of page

New Years & Cross Dressing

The Muslim New Year was celebrated here in Basse this past Monday and Tuesday during which I learned about a new Gambian and apparently West African tradition... cross dressing... for New Years.

I sat outside my office, which is on the main road that goes through Basse, starting around 930pm. Many people were already out roaming the streets and celebrating. As a way to ring in the New Year with joy and happiness, young people have a tradition of cross dressing to bring laughter to their friends and family as well as to strangers.

Groups of friends walked together, sometimes one was dressed up, sometimes none. Many carried buckets or jerry cans which they used as drums and beat as they walked up and down. Some would stop where myself and coworkers were seated to play and dance for us. Then, they would ask for talibu (charity). It's very common during certain holidays for children to go around door to door asking for talibu, a small donation or a treat. It's not offensive if you do not give, but if you have it's nice. Giving is typically 5 or 10 dalasi (12 or 25 cents). The money is collected by the group and evenly divided amoungst themselves at the end of the night.

I sat outside watching young children, some four and five years old, teenagers, and even a few adults going by until midnight when I got tired and decided it was time to go home.

My coworker had told me a few days before that he'd let me dress him up. A few coworkers actually had, but they had to go back to the field earlier in the day. He was hesitant to do it by himself, but I convinced him to do it just for me, as he promised and let me take a picture (top right). No, I myself did not dress up, though I wouldn't have been opposed to the idea. I'd joked with the coworker I'd dressed up that I would, but since most of our friends were gone the pressure/incentive to do it was not there... maybe next year!

What's most intersting about this tradition is that cross dressing is actually illegal here in the Gambia! I will refrain from commentary and simply present the facts... to learn more about the Gambian law around cross dressing please click here.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page