top of page

Tanzania: Pre-arrival Thoughts


Tanzania. The fifth country I’ve visited in the past month. The fourth country I get to call home since leaving the US (Countries 1, 2, and 3- Ethiopia, Kenya, and The Gambia).

Am I excited? Yes. So much so it seems unreal. This is my life, the life I’ve always dreamed of having. Well, minus the whole real paid professional position (minor detail).

I don’t know what to expect. I’ve never gone into a position knowing so little. I feel like I’m off to summer camp. I just know it’s going to be fun. My position is only four months long and after 10+ months in The Gambia, I feel like I can do anything for four months.

The Gambia… it already feels like such a distant memory. I’ve spent the past three and half weeks traveling around Ethiopia with my father throughout Addis Ababa (the capital) and to Harar, Bale Mountains, Wendo Genet and Awassa. We also went to Lake Langano for my good Ethiopian friend’s wedding, which I got to be a bridesmaid in! There was also a second traditional wedding that took place in Addis a few days later.

It’s been an action packed few weeks and now that I have time to really sit and think as I stare out the window on the propeller plane I’m currently on I continue to try and process where I’m at and where I’m going.

I feel so happy to finally be excited again and to feel like I have my life back on track- that it’s going somewhere. For so long, I was so depressed in The Gambia, living alone with a lack of a social life and hobbies in a town where there was little to do and a position that I wasn’t challenged enough at. It was a really difficult time. There were amazing moments and I met some incredible people and made life long friends. I’m glad I stuck it out and that I didn’t quit as I so often contemplated doing (Mom & Dad, I’m sorry I know I drove you crazy). I learned a lot about myself- my limits and endurance, how to live and be alone.

… ok the seat belt sign just came on aka electronics off... we're landing (!) so more will have to come later!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page